I made a Photoshop script to auto-insert dialogue

Dex-chan lover
I made, or rather, got ChatGPT to make a Photoshop script to auto-insert dialogues into a layer. This script was tailor-made for my workflow, which all pages are stacked into their own layer as smart objects, where I do all the cleaning/redrawing and typesetting, in one PS document. I simply just got tired of copy pasting every single dialogue into every single text box, and I thought, "why don't I just use technology to do this for me?" And, thus, this script was born.

Now, as a disclaimer, I am not an expert programmer. I have minimal experience in coding (I took a C++ course few years back. This script is in JavaScript). ChatGPT did all the coding, and I just tweaked it some minor things to make it work. I only did this as a proof of concept.

What the script do: it'll bring up a window where you can select a font and font size, and it'll list all smart object layers where you can insert text inputs to be put into that layer. You can add or remove text inputs for each layer. Afterwards, it'll go through each smart object layers in order and automatically add your text, in text paragraph form (meaning in a text box rather than point text), in individual text layers in your selected font and font size and stack them on the center of the page. The order of text layer will follow your text inputs, so your top input will be your top layer. The text layers are automatically set to center justification, hyphenation on, and anti-aliasing smooth.

ZMqgngn.png