What do y'all think abt characters that would do ANYTHING for the MC?

Btw this is my first time making a post(?) so I may have made mistakes.
Now u read the title, I'm talking manga, movies, fanfic, books...

There are some characters that just love so selflessly love the MC whether they get a happy ending or not (sometimes to the point of suicide.)

Question is, do you think it's ever addressed the right way? For a person to do selflessly love, to be willing to do anything for the MC or his/ her friends or to value themselves so little as to be willing to give their lives as a sacrifice?

I've too often just seen these kind of characters used as stepping stones to progress the plot, but they very rarely ever come back to how heroic that tale truly is, or even give them proper recognition.

Dex-chan lover
Utterly foolish,
one should look out for themselves.
Law of the Jungle.

Dex-chan lover
Depends on what and at what cost.
But from what I've read so far I would say that they're committing too much. In general.

@salmazwn let's say from Boku no hero academia
when twice is willing to end his life for his mates
In Lord of the rings
Boromir dies heroically in the first movie to save his friends
In Thor: Ragnarok
There's Helsa's right hand that goes on the good side at the very end and puts his life on the line

These are just examples which in my mind never got the credit they deserve

Other examples we can have love interests who would rather die than have their heart broken

In the classic Anne of Green gables
we have Gilbert who wouldn't even try to survive typhoid cuz there's no purpose in life if not for Anne
In Romeo Juliet,( I'm sorry but this can stay in the 1800s)
In Titanic
( notice how it's the really popular love stories that have this plot point?)

It's ridiculous to me that people would find it endearing that someone would give up their life for just one person