Software dev wants to make scanlation tools

I've got some programming experience and I'd like to use it to make something that helps with scanlation.
But I don't know what people need -- google turns up a few projects that look useful and a few people saying they just use photoshop for everything.

- I've been thinking of trying neural network cleaning / redrawing. Has a lot of potential, but requires a lot of data.
- Typesetting seems to have tools already, but if there's anything to improve there, I'd be happy to try.
- Full machine translation is hard and produces bad quality, but there might be a way to do good machine-assisted translation.
- Or it could be that the biggest gains come from linking up other programs / tools.

If you have an idea for a program that would help your group, I'd like to help out!

I'm not sure if AI nowadays are sophisticated enough to do any of those. I mean, waifu2x just enlarges pictures and that apparently is an accomplishment.

Group Leader
A good OCR . Currently using Capture2Text, but it tends to do dumb mistakes:

- confuses small and large kana
- scans certain dakuten kana as handakuten kana
- tends to recognise 'し' as 'L'
- generally quality suffers depending on different font

Also it's by default not portable to Linux. The CLI part (which is what I'm interested in, as it integrates with another program), does work on Linux when you pile a dozen hacks on top of it, but works differently than the Windows version (it tends to make less mistakes on specific fonts, but on others it completely breaks while the previous version somehow works).

Computer-assisted translation is yet a relatively unexplored area, but I'm currently working on a program of my own which satisfies all my use cases there (though it could satisfy others' needs too).